Tags

, , ,

Forever an optimist; always looking for the best in a stressful, negative moment.  Focused and passionate about life’s opportunities.  A baker since age 6, a wedding planner by choice.

My earliest memory of baking was using my older sister’s Easy Bake Oven in the basement of my family home.  While my mother was washing clothes, I found a few empty brown wax paper candy wrappers -the ones wrapped in Fanny Farmer candies – and began to flatten each circular wrapper and stacked them together and place the ‘hamburger’ inside the oven.  Luckily, my mother was standing nearby and stopped my first baking encounter.

From that time forward, I was always in the kitchen ‘underfoot’ as my father would say as I tried to help set the dinner table while he was cooking.  Washing dishes, clearing the table and putting leftovers in the refrigerator became a routine that I gladly volunteered for.

A trip to the local grocery store became a weekly routine.  My mother would take me along as she shopped for dinners, birthday parties, Thanksgiving and Christmas meals.  She made the process seem so effortless but as I began to plan my own dinner parties and invite family and friends to Thanksgiving Dinners, I learned quickly and sometimes not so easily how hard it is to have all the food ready at the same time.  Somewhere along the journey I realized that I would rather bake than cook.

Living in South Carolina, miles away from family, has given me a renewed focus and has allowed me to reflect on my life experiences.  It’s time to do what I want to do instead of following someone else’s path.  My experience as the Clubhouse Coordinator within a private, gated community allowed me to broaden past experiences to gain a larger understanding of all aspects of planning an event including staffing, rentals, timelines and ‘Plan B.’  In December 2010, I launched Lisa Kenward Events with a focus on wedding celebrations.

My passion has grown over the years and my focus remains the same.  And, I have learned that I cannot do it all myself.  My patient and supportive husband keeps me sane through the process of developing sophisticated, creative and memorable events.  Knowing that every event is a group effort, I work with local professionals and business owners who bring their knowledge and services to the event making each celebration unique and fun.

It’s been many years since my first baking experience and I am approaching a total of 100 events coordinated.  All the lessons learned and experiences embraced along the way makes me realize how very fortunate I am to have found a profession that bring me great joy and fuels my passion.

Lisa K.

 

Like these ideas?? Let me know by “Liking” this post and or leaving a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

For more ideas and tips, follow me on my Facebook page! Lisa Kenward Events

Want to copy my post in your newsletter, blog or website? You can as long as you include: “Hilton Head Island, South Carolina (and surrounding areas) Professional Wedding Planner, Lisa Kenward, writes the “Southern Weddings Blog” with her perspective on current topics for weddings and special events. http://www.LisaKenwardEvents.com

